District 11 News - May 2021

Written by National Association of Women Judges|May 05, 2021|News

District 11 members participated in a social hour session on March 11, 2021, called Just Us.  This new connecting effort was suggested by members so that members could get to know each other better and talk about matters of the day.  For this first Just Us talk, members discussed the recent report from the Judicial Commission relating to the study of the election of judges and qualifications to run for election; current proposals to redistrict appellate courts; Megan and Harry; Major’s eviction from the White House over an innocent bite; books members are reading as well as the pending resolution to prohibit travel to Texas for NAWJ meetings due to a decision that Texas does not support the LGBTQ community.

Five new members—Justice Amparo Guerra, 1st District Court of Appeals (Place 5—Houston), Krisina Zuniga (Susman Godfrey LLP, Houston), Judge Monica Thompson Guidry, Immigration Judge (Ft. Worth), Judge Anna Perez, 41st District Court (El Paso) and Mary Lou Alvarez, 45th Civil District Court (San Antonio)—have joined District 11.

Members are still participating in the District’s High Five Challenge.  Members were encouraged to share the newsletter in their recruitment efforts as well as information about upcoming programs. 

The 2021 Color of Justice (Austin) was held on 3/25/2021.  Forty students participated and heard from several local lawyers and judges including Delia Garza, Travis County Attorney; Chris Mugica, Partner, Jackson Walker, Judge Lora Livingston, 261st District Court, Justice of the Peace Nick Chu and Justice Gisela Triana, 3rd Court of Appeals.  Laura Rativa, UT Law School, received a $1000 scholarship from NAWJ.  The program can be viewed on the YouTube channel for the 261st District Court.

The 2021 Color of Justice (Houston) was held on April 23, 2021.  In collaboration with the three Houston law schools, several sessions were held and recorded for the benefit of local students.  A fantastic 3 hour program included short speeches by 5 law students who each received $1000 scholarship.

Connect With Us

Facebook Twitter