District 11 News - April 2021

Written by National Association of Women Judges|March 24, 2021|News

Hearts and well wishes to all affected by the pandemic layered with a most unusual winter storm in the south.  Along with their neighbors and colleagues, many Texas judges and their families were affected; many were without power and water for hours and days at a time.  The judiciary was quick to cancel dockets, programs and meetings preferring that Texans prioritize their power use.  As we begin to recover, please remember that the impact to water and power sources will continue to have long effects.   We send continued recovery and well wishes to all affected.

Welcome to new/returning members:  Lena Silva (Beck Redden LLP);  Judge Jessica Vazquez (El Paso County Criminal Court No. 4); Judge Genesis Draper (Harris County Criminal Court at Law No. 12); Judge Dedra Davis (270th District Court-Houston); Judge Fran Watson (Associate Municipal Court Judge—Houston); Judge Patricia Baca (346th District Court—El Paso); Krisina Zuniga (Susman Godfrey LLP); Judge Monica Thompson Guidry (Immigration Judge—Fort Worth) and Justice Amparo Guerra (First Court of Appeals—Houston). 

On March 16, 2021, the Supreme Court of Texas appointed members to the Supreme Court Advisory Committee.  Click here to read the full order.


The winter storm, school closures and power issues led the Austin Color of Justice team—Ret. Judge Orlinda Naranjo, Emily Morris, Judge Karin Crump and Judge Maria Salas Mendoza—to postpone its Color of Justice program slated for February 18th, 2021.  The virtual program will be rescheduled with live broadcasting provided by Judge Crump. 

In coordination with South Texas College of Law, Thurgood Marshall School of Law and the University of Houston Law Center, the Houston Color of Justice team—Judge Lesley Briones, Judge Ronique Robins and Justice Julie Countiss—are garnering great local support for their virtual program to be held on April 23, 2021.

COJ programs are planned for the coastal areas (organizers:  Justice Leticia Hinojosa and Justice Gina Benavides), San Antonio (organizers: Judge Antonia Arteaga and Justice Rebeca Martinez) and El Paso (organizers:  Judge Selena Solis, Judge Linda Chew, Judge Diane Navarrette).  The El Paso program is scheduled for May 1, 2021.

Connect With Us

Facebook Twitter