Reception to Honor NAWJ District Four's 2017 Edna Parker Award Recipient District of Columbia Court of Appeals Chief Judge Anna Blackburne-Rigsby

Nov 02, 2017 @ 5:30PM - Nov 02, 2017 @ 7:30PM

Atrium of the E. Barrett Prettyman Courthouse

333 Constitution Avenue N.W.

Washington, DC 20001


NAWJ District Four has selected The Honorable Anna Blackburne-Rigsby as the recipient of its bi-annual Edna G. Parker Award.  The award will be presented at a reception on Thursday, November 2, 2017 from 5:30 pm -7:30 pm in the atrium of the E. Barrett Prettyman Courthouse, 333 Constitution Avenue N.W. in Washington, D.C.  United States District Court (District of Columbia) Chief Judge Beryl A. Howell and United States Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor will attend.

Event Details

About the Edna G. Parker Award

Edna G. Parker was a dedicated jurist, devoted mother, and a fearless champion for justice.  She served on the United States Tax Court.  The award honors her memory and inestimable value to the Washington area community and the National Association of Women Judges.  Awardees are selected on the basis of their outstanding achievements and accomplishments that reflect the ideals embodied in the spirit and legacy of Edna G. Parker, including honoring the notion of service performed in the District Four’s region of Maryland, Virginia and the District of Columbia demonstrating leadership and commitment to improving or demonstrating to others the significance of leadership in furthering the cause of justice.

Listed below are the recipients of the award to date:

May 1997: Hon. Bess B. Lavine, District Court of Maryland
November, 1999: Hon. Noel A. Kramer, D.C. Superior Court
April 2002: Hon. Elizabeth B. Lacey, Supreme Court of Virginia
June, 2006: Hon. Kathleen O'Ferrell Friedman, Baltimore City Circuit Court, Retired
June, 2008: Hon. Arline Pacht, ALJ, NLRB (Retired), Founder, IAWJ
May, 2010: Hon. Gladys Kessler, U.S. District Court for the District of Columbia
June, 2012: Hon. Cathy Hollenberg Serrette, 7th Judicial Circuit of Maryland
October, 2015:  Hon. Barbara Keenan, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

About the Honorable Anna Blackburne-Rigsby

You can find an expanded biography of Chief Judge Anna Blackburne-Rigsby here.

During her 21 years on the District of Columbia Courts, Judge Blackburne-Rigsby earned a reputation as a gracious and respected colleague and leader. Judge Blackburne-Rigsby has demonstrated a deep commitment to access to justice for all residents of the District of Columbia: She currently chairs the District of Columbia Courts’ Standing Committee on Fairness and Access and she also serves on the District of Columbia’s Access to Justice Commission. An active leader and member of various legal, judicial, and community organizations, Judge Blackburne-Rigsby has served, chair of the Washington Bar Association’s Judicial Council, and as a past chair and current member of the Board of Managerial Trustees for the International Association of Women Judges. Locally, she is supportive of youth organizations. Judge Blackburne-Rigsby has received numerous awards for her legal, judicial, and community service, including the Women’s Bar Association of the District of Columbia’s “2014 Star of the Bar Award.”

Registration Information


NAWJ Member          $75    
Non-NAWJ Member  $75    



Register online or click here to download the registration form to email or mail:

National Association of Women Judges
1001 Connecticut Avenue, NW, Suite 1138
Washington, D.C. 20036