NAWJ Webinar: Racial Disparities in the Courts

Jan 26, 2022 @ 4:00PM - Jan 26, 2022 @ 5:15PM

January 26, 2022
4:00 PM EDT / 3:00 PM CDT / 2:00 PM MDT / 1:00 PM PDT

 

Racial Disparities in the Court

The Racial Bias Training webinar is being continued on January 26, 2022 at 4:00 PM Eastern/1:00 PM Pacific.  Recent mass protests against systemic racism and police violence have also focused a spotlight on the on-going injustice in our courts. It is common to read about egregious sentences and disparate treatment of people of color, black and Latino people, and women, who come before our courts daily. It is time to take into account the lack of neutrality of a loaded justice system that awards efficiency over justice, and treats individuals as numbers on a page, and fails to see them as people with real stories behind the actions. Inequalities in this system go back to a network of legalized discrimination and it is time to re-examine what we do, how we see people and ultimately, the decisions that we make and the consequences that follow. This is the first part of a two-part series.  This part addresses the current state of our justice system in conversations that comprise a view from the Federal and State benches, and from a formerly incarceration woman now working for change as an attorney with The Sentencing Project. 

Click here to register.

 

 

sji.jpg

Event Details