NAWJ Webinar - Breaking the Judicial Glass Ceiling: Elevating Diverse Judicial Leaders

Aug 25, 2022 @ 2:00PM - Aug 25, 2022 @ 3:15PM

August 25, 2022
2:00 PM EDT / 1:00 PM CDT / 12:00 PM MDT / 11:00 AM PDT

 

Breaking the Judicial Glass Ceiling: Elevating Diverse Judicial Leaders

Judicial leadership positions still remain out of reach for judges of color, judges from the LGBTQ+ community and from other underrepresented communities. This panel will discuss what those who make judicial leadership appointments identify as skills needed that make a judge a candidate for leadership positions within their courts. The panel will also identify how judges can develop the skills needed to prepare them for such leadership positions. The panelists have successfully navigated the mysterious leadership process and will help demystify it for others.

By the end of the program, participants should

  1. Identify skills needed to make a judge a candidate for leadership positions
  2. Identify how judges can develop the skills needed to prepare them for such leadership positions

 

FEATURING:

Hon. Roderick Shelton, Judge, Superior Court of San Diego County, California (Moderator)

Hon. Elizabeth Garry, Presiding Justice, New York Supreme Court, Appellate Division

Hon. Patricia Guerrero, Associate Justice, California Supreme Court

Hon. Samantha Jessner, Assistant Presiding Judge, Los Angeles Superior Court

 

REGISTER HERE

Presented by the NAWJ Fairness and Access Committee

Event Details