NAWJ Board Nominations Deadline

Jul 31, 2020 - All day - Jul 31, 2020


NAWJ is accepting nominations for its 2020-2021 Board of Directors Officer positions. By serving in a leadership capacity at NAWJ, you can make a positive impact on your profession and the growth of the organization. 

NAWJ Board Members are responsible for developing and fulfilling the strategic direction of the organization. As an organization, we are committed to our members and stakeholders to drive innovation and positive change in the judiciary community. Working as a team, the Board of Directors set the mold for the future of NAWJ. The positions are challenging, fun and will advance your role as a judicial leader. 

The following officer positions are available for a one-year board term and will commence at the NAWJ Annual Business Meeting on October 15, 2020: 

Vice President of Districts
Vice President for Publications

To review the duties for each officer position, please click here to read the excerpt of Article X from the NAWJ Bylaws. 

If you are willing to contribute your time, talents and ideas to help NAWJ advance the judiciary in achieving fairness and equality in our judicial system and promoting equal access to justice to vulnerable populations, or if you know someone who would be an asset to NAWJ in a leadership position, please submit a nomination form by July 31 at 5 PM PST. If you are nominating someone else you must have their consent, or the nomination will not be considered.   

Submit a Nomination

Only voting members in good standing are eligible to hold office and remain subject to the canons of judicial conduct. Voting members include sitting or retired judges.

SUBMISSION REQUIREMENTS: Please submit a letter describing the nominee’s participation in NAWJ activities, including accomplishments you wish to bring to the committee’s attention; attach the nominee's biography; and attach the nominee’s curriculum vita. You must submit the required details through the Nomination Form

For questions about the requirements or nominations process, please contact Maureen Gelwicks, Operations Director at

In accordance with the NAWJ Bylaws, the names of the Nominating Committee shall be presented to the membership at least 90 days prior to the annual meeting: 

Hon. Tamila Ipema (San Diego Superior Court), Chair
Hon. Anna Blackburne-Rigsby, District of Columbia Court of Appeals
Hon. Bernice Bouie Donald, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit
Hon. Judith C. Chirlin, California Superior Court (Ret.)
Hon. Fernande (Nan) R.V. Duffly, Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court (Ret.)
Hon. Dana Fabe, Alaska Supreme Court (Ret.)
Hon. Julie E. Frantz, Multnomah County Circuit Court (Ret.)
Hon. Tanya Kennedy, New York Supreme Court
Hon. Brenda Stith Loftin, St. Louis County Circuit Court (Ret.)
Hon. Judith McConnell, California Court of Appeal
Hon. Amy Nechtem, Massachusetts Juvenile Court
Hon. Vanessa Ruiz, District of Columbia Court of Appeals
Hon. Bea Ann Smith, Texas Court of Appeals (Ret.)

Event Details