2007 Annual Conference

Image of Philadelphia 4 Seasons hotel


Philadelphia, PA • November 7 - 11, 2007

NAWJ 29th Annual Conference A Transcendent Success

The National Association of Women Judges hosted over 350 members, sponsors, speakers and guests, including over 40 judges from Argentina, Canada, Bosnia, Egypt, Ireland, Nepal, Korea, Nigeria, Taiwan, England and Ukraine at its “We the People” 29th Annual Conference in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania November 7-11 at the Four Seasons Hotel, with events at the National Constitution Center, Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts, and featuring a gala Keynote Luncheon at the Park Hyatt at the Bellevue.

Chairs Judge Norma L. Shapiro and NAWJ past-president Judge Carolyn Engel Temin, two longtime NAWJ leaders with deep roots in the Philadelphia and held in the highest regard among its legal community, welcomed all to a joyful time of exchange, camaraderie, learning and challenge, with a program reflective of the changes that have taken place in the world, the nation and in NAWJ over the years. The magnificent Philadelphia Friends Committee, co-chaired by Bobbie Liebenberg and Stephanie Resnick, did a brilliant job in securing the generous support of seemingly the entire Philadelphia legal community.

Extraordinarily high quality panels and speeches addressed issues including the breadth of the Constitution’s guarantees, Separation of Powers, the Roberts Court, the Innocence Project, Immigration, Gender and Sexuality Law, The Public Perception of Women Judges, challenges facing new judges, and International Justice for Women.

Distinguished guests and panel leaders over the four days included Luncheon Keynote Speaker Judith Rodin, President of the Rockefeller Foundation; Pennsylvania Governor Ed Rendell; Pennsylvania Chief Justice Ralph J. Cappy; Harvard Law Professor Charles Ogletree; Third Circuit Judge Marjorie Rendell; Tenth Circuit Chief Judge Deanell Tacha; author Lisa Scottline; Professor Penny White; Stanford Law Professor Pamela Carlin; Innocence Project Executive Director Maddy de Lone; journalist Marciarose Shestack; Brooklyn Law School Professor (and longtime NAWJ activist Elizabeth M. Schneider of Brooklyn Law School; and Judge Leslie Alden, President-Elect of our sister organization, the International Association of Women Judges. We were also greatly honored by the presence of Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg at the Friday night Gala Reception.

The Annual NAWJ Business Meeting saw the election and installation of President Fernande Duffly and the 2007-08 Officers and the passing of two resolutions. This year’s Silent Auction raised $7,500.

The Four Season’s beautiful Ballroom provided the perfect setting for the year’s NAWJ Awards Banquet. Judge Temin was awarded the Justice Joan Dempsey Klein Honoree of the Year; the Florence K. Murray Award was presented to longtime and generous NAWJ supporters LexisNexis© and Morrison & Foerster LLP; the Mattie Belle Davis Award was awarded to the Honorable Sandra Farragut-Hemphill, and the newly inaugurated Justice Vaino Spencer Leadership Award was awarded to NAWJ officer Bankruptcy Judge Sarah Sharer Curley.

NAWJ is pleased to provide the Conference Program Booklet.

NAWJ is pleased to provide the remarks of Rockefeller Foundation President, Judith Rodin, Ph.D., on the impact of globalization on the rule of law and the keynote address, “We the People,” given by the University of Tennessee School of Law Associate Professor of Law, Penny J. White, former Justice of the Tennessee Supreme Court, now Interim Director of the Center for Advocacy at the University.

We would like to thank the 2007 Annual Conference Friends Committee!

Committee Co-Chairs

Roberta Liebenberg - Member, Fine, Kaplan & Black, R.P.C.

Stephanie Resnick - Partner, Fox Rothschild LLPCommittee Members

Bunny Baum - Director of Judicial Services, Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts

Sharon Caffrey - Partner, Duane Morris LLP

Jane Dalton - Partner, Duane Morris LLP

Claire DeMatteis - Director, Delaware Office, Stradley Ronon Stevens & Young, LLP

Laura Feldman - Shareholder, Feldman & Pinto

Wanda E. Flowers - Chief Counsel, Labor, EEO and Employment, Sunoco, Inc.

Leslie Greenspan - Associate, Stradley Ronon Stevens & Young, LLP

Deborah R. Gross - Attorney, Law Offices of Bernard M. Gross, P.C.

Robert Heim - Partner, Dechert LLP

Eleanor Illoway - Partner, Harkins Cunningham LLP

Catherine Jasons - Partner, Kelley Jasons McGowan Spinelli & Hanna, LLP

Lorraine Koc - Vice President & General Counsel, Deb Shops, Inc.

Emily Lawrence - Partner, Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP

Judy Leone - Partner, Dechert LLP

Ellen Meriwether - Partner, Cafferty Faucher LLP

Leslie Miller

Ria Momblanco - Associate, Fine, Kaplan & Black, R.P.C.

Mary Ann Mullaney - Partner, Blank Rome LLP

Bernadine Munley - Partner, Ballard Spahr Andrews & Ingersoll, LLP

Julie Negovan - Member, Cozen O’Connor

Roberta D. Pichini - Attorney, Feldman, Shepherd, Wohlgelernter Tanner & Weinstock

Mary Platt - Partner, Montgomery, McCracken, Walker & Rhoads, LLP

Julia M. Rafferty - Associate, Stradley Ronon Stevens & Young, LLP

Drucilla Stender Ramey - Executive Director, National Association of Women Judges

Lynn Rzonca - Partner, Ballard Spahr Andrews & Ingersoll, LLP

Carolyn Short - Partner, Reed Smith

Barbara Sicalides - Partner, Pepper Hamilton LLP

Joan Stern - Partner, Blank Rome LLP

Marguerite S. Walsh - Shareholder, Littler Mendelson, P.C.

Nicole Whittington - Associate, White and Williams LLP

Kathleen Wilkinson - Partner, Wilson Elser Moskowitz Edelman & Dicker LLP

NAWJ is pleased to provide the Friends Committee Gala Luncheon Program Booklet.

We would like to thank the supporters of the NAWJ 29th Annual Conference!

(As of August 28, 2007)



Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP

Thomson West



Dechert LLP

The Legal Intelligencer

Pepper Hamilton LLP



Ballard Spahr Andrews & Ingersoll, LLP

Blank Rome LLP

Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney PC

Cozen O'Connor

Duane Morris LLP

Fox Rothschild LLP

Reed Smith LLP



Cafferty Faucher LLP

Capsicum Group, LLC

Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP

Esquire Deposition Services, LLC

Golkow Litigation Technologies

Harkins Cunningham LLP

Littler Mendelson, P.C.

Philadelphia Bar Association

Saul Ewing LLP

Stradley Ronon Stevens & Young, LLP

Sunoco, Inc



Caesar, Rivise, Bernstein, Cohen and Pokotilow, Ltd.

Chimicles & Tikellis LLP

Conrad O'Brien Gellman & Rohn, P.C.

Eckert Seamans Cherin & Mellott, LLC

Feldman,Shepherd,Wohlgelernter,Tanner & Weinstock

Fine, Kaplan and Black, R.P.C.

First Advantage

Hangley Aronchick Segal & Pudlin P.C.


Kelley Jasons McGowan Spinelli & Hanna, LLP

Knipes-Cohen Court Reporting


Lavin, O'Neil, Ricci, Cedrone & DiSipio

Law Offices of Bernard M. Gross, P.C.

Mager & Goldstein LLP

Marshall Dennehey Warner Coleman & Goggin, P.C.

Miller, Alfano & Raspanti

Montgomery, McCracken, Walker & Rhoads, LLP

Peachtree Settlement Funding

RatnerPrestia, P.C.

Schiffrin Barroway Topaz & Kessler, LLP

Schnader Harrison Segal & Lewis LLP

Willig, Williams & Davidson

Wilson Elser Moskowitz Edelman & Dicker LLP

Wolf Block Schorr & Solis-Cohen LLP

Woodcock Washburn LLP

Young Conaway Stargatt & Taylor, LLP

Connect With Us

Facebook Twitter