Awards Descriptions

NAWJ Awards Descriptions

The Joan Dempsey Klein NAWJ Honoree of the Year Award

Selected by Awards Committee
This award is named in honor of the NAWJ’s Founding Mother, Justice Joan Dempsey Klein.  The award is presented annually to a member who has assisted women judges to become more proficient in their profession, helped to solve the legal, social and ethical problems associated with the judiciary, and worked to increase the number of women serving as judges.

The Florence K. Murray Award

Selected by Awards Committee
This award was instituted by its namesake, the Honorable Florence K. Murray, for presentation to a non-judge who, by example or otherwise, has influenced women to pursue legal careers, opened doors for women attorneys, or advanced opportunities for women within the legal profession.

Mattie Belle Davis Award

Selected by the President in consultation with Executive Committee
The guidelines for selecting the Mattie Belle Davis Award recipient are:

  • The awardee should be a member who has gone above and beyond his or her role as member and volunteer to help make a difference in the organization and furthered its mission, as the Honorable Mattie Belle Davis did.
  • The awardee should not be or have been a member of the Executive Committee of the NAWJ.
  • The awardee should be an individual dedicated to furthering and supporting women in the legal profession.

Justice Vaino Spencer Leadership Award

Selected by the President
For outstanding leadership in promoting the vision, core values and mission of NAWJ.

Norma Wikler Excellence in Service Award

Connect With Us

Facebook Twitter