



## **National Association of Women Judges**

The Honorable Cheryl Ann Rios, Shawnee County District Court,
Third Judicial District, Division 11, Kansas
District 10 Director (KS, MN, NE, ND, SD)

District 10 Director Report

September 2016

This has been an outstanding year for our women in District 10!

- Kansas Court of Appeals Judge Karen Arnold-Burger received TBA's 2016
   "Warren W. Shaw Distinguished Service Award".
- Kansas District Court Judge Evelyn Wilson received TBA's 2016 "Honorable E. Newton Vickers Professionalism Award".
- Kansas Supreme Court Justice Marla Luckert received GoTopeka's "Women of Influence Award" for mentoring last year.
- Kansas Court of Appeals Karen Arnold-Burger received the Kansas District Judges Association's" Outreach and Education Award" for her work in giving presentations for the NAWJ/Kansas Informed Voter's Project in 2016.
- Kansas District Court Judge Evelyn Wilson was reappointed Chief Judge of the 3<sup>rd</sup> judicial district.
- Kansas District Court Judge Amy Harth was reappointed Chief Judge of the 6<sup>th</sup> judicial district
- Kansas District Court Judge Kim Cudney reappointed Chief Judge of the 12<sup>th</sup> judicial district
- Kansas District Court Judge Patricia Macke Dick reappointed Chief Judge of 27<sup>th</sup>
  judicial district and was also newly appointed as chair of the Kansas District
  Judge's Association
- Kansas District Court Judge Rene Young reappointed Chief Judge of 28<sup>th</sup> judicial district

We are so honored and proud to have these women representing justice in Kansas!

\*Note: Since I was just recently appointed to this position, I was only able to collect information from Kansas.