NAWJ Webinar: Why Courts Are Under Attack and What Judges Can Do About It

Mar 18, 2022 @ 12:00PM - Mar 18, 2022 @ 1:15PM

March 18, 2022
12:00 PM EDT / 11:00 AM CDT / 10:00 AM MDT / 9:00 AM PDT


Why Courts Are Under Attack and What Judges Can Do About It

This webinar will address challenges and threats to judicial independence while examining public knowledge, trust, and confidence in the judicial branch. Judges will learn interactive, effective strategies for engaging with the public and how to access valuable resources and opportunities for such engagements. This webinar will highlight attempts to politicize the judicial branch and the potential consequences. Materials will address nonpartisan messaging and outreach for public engagement useful throughout the year and during elections in helping the public understand the unique elements of the judicial branch in our constitutional design and what to look for in judges. We will incorporate polling, videos, and animations throughout the webinar as well as available resources.  This webinar is being presented by NAWJ's Judicial Independence Committee.

 

Featuring:

Justice Robin Hudson, North Carolina Supreme Court
Justice Debra Stephens, Washington State Supreme Court
Annette Boyd Pitts, Director, Justice Teaching Center, Florida Southern College
Judge Cymonie Rowe, Fifteenth Judicial Circuit, Florida

 

REGISTER HERE

Event Details