ABA SECTION OF INTERNATIONAL LAW The Mayre Rasmussen Award for the Advancement of Women in International Law 2018-2019 NOMINATION FORM

Name of Nominee:	
Nominee's Complete Mailing Address, Email Address & Phone Number:	
Name of Nominator:	
Nominator's Complete Mailing Address, Email Address & Phone Number:	

Background: A pioneer in the field, Mayre Rasmussen was one of the first women to break into the practice of international business law at a major international law firm (Coudert Brothers). After making her mark in private practice, she went on to successes in corporate law at two different companies in the San Francisco Bay area. One of the first women to hold a senior leadership position in the ABA Section of International Law (as it is now known), Mayre also mentored many current and former Section leaders, particularly women rising in the Section and, more generally, in the ABA. In addition, Mayre was one of the founders of the Women's Interest Network ("WIN"), one of the Section's most successful committees, which is devoted both to promoting and protecting the rights and interests of women around the globe and to advancing the engagement of women in the practice of international law.

Deadline for Nominations: All nominations must be received by Jinny Choi, ABA Section of International Law, at jinny.choi@americanbar.org, no later than Friday, December 14, 2018.

Previous Award Recipients:

2018 Carolyn B. Lamm and Lisa J. Grosh

2017 Priti Suri

2016 Amy L. Sommers

2015 Lisa J. Savitt

2014 "Courageous Counsel" (Kara Baysinger, Michele Coleman Mayes, Louise Firestone, Gail A. Lione, and Louise Pentland)

2013 Maria Vicien-Milburn

2012 Hope Lewis*

2011 Carol M. Mates

2010 Diane Marie Amann

2009 Mary J. Harnett

2008 Deborah Enix-Ross

2007 Marsha A. Echols

2006 Aaron Schildhaus 2004 Rona R. Mears* 2001 Dianna P. Kempe 2000 Lucinda A. Low 1999 Mayre Rasmussen (posthumous)

* Deceased

Eligibility: The nominee must be a lawyer. Individuals who are not members of the ABA Section of International Law are eligible for nomination, although preference is given to Section members. If an honoree is not already a Section member, the Section gives the honoree a complimentary one-year Section membership. The Mayre Rasmussen Award is a non-monetary honor conferred on distinguished lawyers who are recognized for their outstanding contributions to the advancement of women in international law.

Presentation: The award is presented periodically, although not necessarily annually. An honoree must be present at the ceremony to accept the award. The target date for this year's award presentation is during the 2019 Section of International Law Meeting in April.

Award Criteria: Please explain how the nominee has (1) achieved professional excellence in international law, and, in addition, has done at least one of the following: (2) encouraged women to practice international law, (3) opened doors for women in international law settings from which they have historically been excluded, and/or (4) advanced opportunities for women in a particular field of international law. The nomination must include a copy of the nominee's resume or biography. Additional pages may be attached to the Nomination Form.		
